Uncertainty can be happiness

"Security is a false god," or running around the world as an FSO

Wanderlust….

Posted by quirksalight on April 24, 2007

I don’t know how many of y’all get “itchy feet,” but I’ve always wanted to do more traveling than is actually realistic. Maybe I’ve been watching the Discovery Channel or reading National Geographic too much (they really know how to sell it to you, eh?), but I have an intense hankering to travel. And not to the Pragues and Syndeys of the world.

wordl

No, I want to hit Ulaan Baatar, the Faroe Islands, the Papahānaumokuākea Marine National Monument, and Sardinia (I blame this one on Vik!). To see the Northern Lights as I freeze my ass off in -40 F temperatures, frozen in place (literally!) with the beauty.

Northern Lights
From Wikipedia….
Which is really funny, as I love being in a city. Hahahaha…..

2 Responses to “Wanderlust….”

  1. Kristion said

    Nice

  2. Gary Smith said

    <>

    What is realistic? You can do what you choose! For twenty years I lived in one apartment and only dreamed of places I wanted to go. Then I brought up the resolve to make a change, and for the last seven years I have been realizing my dreams.

    I returned to the River of No Return Wilderness in Idaho, where I had walked the trails more than thirty years before. I went to India, lived in Andalusia in the south of Spain, lived on three of the islands of Hawai’i, adventured in New Zealand, returned to my home town in Colorado, and now live in Bavaria, Germany.

    This was not done with money. I went to Hawai’i with less than $500 and stayed three years. To New Zealand with $300. I did not know people in the places I went, and have no great income producing skills.

    It happened with trust, following intuition and the magic of synchronicity. I have many stories to tell from these travels, and posted some at the Acts of Peace web site.

    You can also follow your intuition and trust life for your survival! Sure it is not always comfortable, but in my experience the greatest challenges reveal the greatest treasures.

    When I went to New Zealand I wrote a poem and printed it onto cards, then give one to each person who gave me a ride while hitchhiking from Auckland to Queenstown. It is called New Zealand Dream:

    New Zealand Dream

    From days of youth I dreamed to be,
    In the land of the Kiwi,

    Where wooley sheep are more than men,
    And magic dwells in forest glen,

    Where ancient Polynesian pride,
    And English tea live side by side,

    Where Frodo found true friend in Sam,
    And in New Zealand now I am.

    (In New Zealand from January 1, 2005 to March 23, 2005)

Leave a Reply

 
