Uncertainty can be happiness

"Security is a false god," or running around the world as an FSO

There is a reason for good equipment…and good maintenance

Posted by quirksalight on May 14, 2007

I love my bike helmet, I love my bike seat. I need to love my brakes a whole lot more.
The reason for spending time and money on good equipment & maintenance really shows when you “eat it”.
So on Saturday, I went trail riding (ie, mountain biking) for the first time on a short, beginner, course on Long Island at Cathedral Pines.

[Image removed upon request]

It was a 6 mile loop, and a whole lotta fun!!!!! Though it got quite interesting at about mile 1, when I found out that my rear brakes were not really functional. (Bruise number 1) Upon fixing that problem with my handy dandy tool kit, I went merrily along my way, up and down, round and about the trail until about mile 5. Where gravity and momentum, coupled with my overconfidence lead to bruises 2 – 9. (mind you, I’m only counting the bruises that are larger than 1 inch in diameter)
Steep drop, right after I come around a sharp right hand turn (going quickly, of course), and not hitting the unbalanced brakes in time led my bike going in one direction, and lil’ ol’ me going in the correct direction, sans bicycle. Yup. I slid a couple feet down the trail mainly on my right side and back, with a complementary knock on the noggin. Hence why I love my helmet. 😛

The only downside to the ride was that the impact jarred a nut loose in my favorite bike seat (the cushiest thing ever!) and ripped my bag… which then required me to make some additional purchases.

Yes, I’m doing this again next week. 😀

2 Responses to “There is a reason for good equipment…and good maintenance”

  1. […] by quirksalight on June 4th, 2007 After a loss in the first round, for round two in my foray into mountain biking, I went back to Cathedral Pines to tackle the […]

  2. Cerys said

    Thank you for this article. I’m happy the reality is getting out. The saddest factor to me about China would be the terrible deficiency of regard for lifestyle. I am concerned in specific demands adoptions and the way they treat infants there’s so horrifying.
    Botched surgeries, no surgery whatsoever where required, gorgeous kids thrown absent like garbage just before and right after birth.

    I can not respect a nation that treats human daily life this way.

Leave a Reply

 
