Uncertainty can be happiness

"Security is a false god," or running around the world as an FSO

Any recommendations?

Posted by quirksalight on May 23, 2007

Deciding to take a break from my doctorate was an evolving decision making process over the past year. I remember asking myself why I was so unhappy when I doing what I wanted to do and working towards the degree I wanted. And figuring out the answers to that was so simple, but so difficult; that it wasn’t want I wanted anymore. And at that point, deciding to leave was a lot easier. Maybe it was a “Eureka!” moment or me just going through a “Quarter-life crisis”. Maybe.
Theories aside, I’ve been pursuing this goal, research in the biomedical sciences, since the start of undergrad… that’s a long time…it is high time that I consider the other options available out there.
I’m still optimistic enough and idealistic enough to want to make a difference in the lives of other people and think that I still can. Now, I just have to figure out what I want to do. Any recommendations?

One Response to “Any recommendations?”

  1. John Yau said

    It sounds like you’ve caught the Eileen bug and want to run off to other countries for a while.

    If you’ve hit a wall in your research, some time off would be good. Travel a bit and then reevaluate your options then. Maybe you’ll find some inspiration somewhere…I’m sure the engineer in you won’t want to sit idle for long.

    I’m still in the same old apartment and you can always come visit.

    Johnny

Leave a Reply

 
