Uncertainty can be happiness

"Security is a false god," or running around the world as an FSO

…And I’m back….

Posted by quirksalight on July 10, 2007

Holy Moly…. I am in love with Montreal. At least in the summertime, anyhow. It is a very bike friendly city, especially in the downtown and in the canal/river region. I ended up renting bikes 4 times in the two weeks I was there – three short trips and one crazy long one that had me riding about 30+ miles.
One thing that really surprised me was that most everyone that I met through the two weeks were extremely friendly, even though I couldn’t really speak a word of French. Absolutely contrary to the rep of the Quebecois as a rude bunch…a delightful surprise.
The Montreal youth hostel lived up to it reputation – it was well run, clean, and organized a lot of events to showcase the nightlife, events and areas of the city. Most definitely would recommend them for anyone who’s looking for a cheap, but good place to stay in Montreal. Though next time, I would stay there for a couple of days and then find a temporary sublet if I were to stay in Montreal for more than a week.
And the Jazz Festival… it was amazing. Literally swimming in music, though the crowds were insane! I found a dozen artists that I’ve never heard before, but am going to follow now. Will update fully, with photos and the like. Right now, I’m still readjusting back into my regular life and getting over this bug that I caught in the last days there.

Leave a Reply

 
