Uncertainty can be happiness

"Security is a false god," or running around the world as an FSO

Your life in boxes…

Posted by quirksalight on July 17, 2007

Nothing makes it clearer that your life is changing than moving. I’m packing up my stuff this week, as my lease runs out at the end of the month. It’s an odd feeling… this house is the most permanent place I’ve lived in since I left for undergrad; until grad school, I was moving every year.
Which makes moving/packing a bit difficult – I’ve accumulated a lot of stuff over the past three years, as I expected to be in this house for another two (projected graduation w/Ph.D). But plans change, and I’m divesting myself of excess possessions (ie, furniture, clothes and shoes that I don’t wear, books that I won’t read, etc) to minimize that stuff that I’m moving to my parents house.
But in all this lies the question: what does one really need? I’m trying to pack my stuff for storage and at the same time pack for the next couple of months, where I’ll be living out of a couple suitcases and boxes.

Leave a Reply

 
