Uncertainty can be happiness

"Security is a false god," or running around the world as an FSO

Getting Ink Done – Part II

Posted by quirksalight on September 1, 2007

Here’s the design, inked into my back as of yesterday night:
Star and Mobius

Chris did a great job with the shading and the line detail; totally happy with it and will be going back to him for other tattoo work. If you’re looking for an artist on Long Island, I’d totally recommend him and the shop, Da Vinci tattoo. The shop had a great atmosphere and the staff were very open and welcoming to customers. They weren’t patronizing or condescending when I went to talk to them about my design (multiple times and several incarnations of) or my concerns about getting a tattoo and how to take care of it. Yes, I did run into those attitudes when looking for a shop/artist to do the work.

The process itself was shorter than I expected. The actual time to ink the design into my back was about an hour, give or take. And I have to admit, it was a little more painful than I expected it to be; but hey, it does make sense; you’re causing tiny wounds to allow ink to be trapped under your skin in a particular design. (See the wikipedia definition of a tattoo)

3 Responses to “Getting Ink Done – Part II”

  1. Nice Design! I really like the Mobius strip in the centre! Hope it heals well!

  2. Thanks! It’s healing up quite well, though it’s a bit of a contortion to reach the tattoo to care for it. 😛

  3. Thanks! I like star tattoos!

Leave a Reply

 
