Uncertainty can be happiness

"Security is a false god," or running around the world as an FSO

Joint hijinks

Posted by quirksalight on September 18, 2007

I’ve been having problems with my left knee for sometime now – pain in the region of the kneecap going up and down stairs, running and other high impact activities.
After an x-ray and a MRI, it turns out that my left patella (aka, kneecap) is off center, and probably had been for years, causing more pressure on the outer side and pain. This is not too unusual; it’s a condition called patellar subluxation, and there are non-surgical options to correct it.
The catch is, the pain is from a full-thickness chondral defect on the lateral (outer side of the knee) surface of the underside of the patella. Not good. This means at that point, the cartilage has been damaged/destroyed to down to the bone. It’s still small, and if I can get the kneecap dealt with, that would reduce the stress on the defect and potentially prevent further damage.
Lots of what-ifs. On top of this, the combo of the subluxation and the chondral defect caused a Baker’s cyst to form, rupture, and then re-form and re-rupture in a rather painful cycle. This interlinked trio has been having a profound impact on my daily and extracurricular activities; I’ve been trying to work around them and sometimes through them, but I may have just hit a wall.

4 Responses to “Joint hijinks”

  1. Dan said

    I have that too, caused by running. My recommendation is less running, more biking and stretching. Anyway, I really do feel your pain 😦

  2. […] Joint hijinks […]

  3. […] quirksalight on December 16, 2007 I finally went and saw an orthopedic surgeon in Virginia for my knee again. The swelling and joint pain had subsided for a while, but now it’s becoming a bit more […]

  4. […] finally went and saw an orthopedic surgeon in Virginia for my knee again. The swelling and joint pain had subsided for a while, but now it’s becoming a bit more […]

Leave a Reply

 
