Uncertainty can be happiness

"Security is a false god," or running around the world as an FSO

Biking!

Posted by quirksalight on November 4, 2007

It’s the first weekend I’ve been back in the DC Metro area, and I decided (with the approval of my physical therapist in NY) to go biking. Not mountain biking, just a couple miles along the Potomac river, from Gravelly Point to Old Town Alexandria and back.
I was considering canceling, as my knee felt a little stiff and the cyst bulging on Saturday morning, but decided to continue as it was a gorgeous fall day and I was biking on pretty flat paths.
IT was great! I’m definitely out of shape (huffin’ and puffin’!) but wasn’t too bad. The knee was definitely swollen at the end, but not unbearably painful. Some ibuprofen and heat/cold therapy after helped, and 36 hours later, the knee isn’t a problem. Though it was rather irritating that I forgot my fingerless biking gloves and that my legs were getting a bit chilly by the end. (I was wearing bike shorts) Gonna go try an ultra easy single-track tomorrow during the day, trying out some cold-weather biking pants that I picked up at REI.
It’s good to be back riding.

Leave a Reply

 
