Uncertainty can be happiness

"Security is a false god," or running around the world as an FSO

You can’t go”home” again

Posted by quirksalight on November 7, 2007

It’s the first week back in Northern Virginia and in the house my parents have been in since I was in high school.
Stepping into my old room, with the furniture I’d picked out when young was a bit strange. Especially since the place had slowly been turning into the office/upstairs storage room in the years since high school. I left for college and haven’t lived here in the years since, with a couple months exception in 2001 (when no one was able to find a job).
Now, I’m going through piles of paper and books, readjusting the furniture so it can hold my things and my mother’s office supplies/equipment, and wondering if this arrangement will work for the time I need it to. It’s an adjustment for them too; neither of us are used to living with the other. All of a sudden they are parents, all of a sudden I have parents; neither in absentia for the first time in years.
The quote titling this post by Thomas Wolfe is right; you really can’t go back home again. You go back, but it’s just a pitstop on your journey. Time marches on, and so does the concept of home.

Leave a Reply

 
