Uncertainty can be happiness

"Security is a false god," or running around the world as an FSO

Korea

Posted by quirksalight on December 5, 2007

Yesterday, I received a phone call from the Director of the Korean Education Center at the Embassy about my application for the EPIK position. Two documentation issues came up. I had a document missing, transcripts proving I had been educated in the US from 7th grade on, as I was originally born in Korea. Secondly, I did not have a copy of my Naturalization Certificate, but I pointed out that I have a US passport, and he agreed that should be enough for proof of US citizenship.
Apparently, I also need to declare my #2 and #3 choice of posting assignments. Since I declared one location, it seems that I must declare the other two, else the committee will read it as I will only accept Incheon for my posting (which is not the case). The problem is, I really don’t know where I want to be. I chose Incheon b/c it’s right next to Seoul, and hence, my family. The ones I haven’t seen in two decades, with the exception of a cousin and a grandmother, and would like to be able to reacquaint myself with. Looks like I’ve got 48 hours to do some research.
So now, my interview is scheduled for the morning of Dec. 7th at the Korean Embassy in Washington DC. After that, the interviewer writes up his recommendation and sends it to Seoul for the final review, and I find out if I’m in around the New Year.

Leave a Reply

 
