Uncertainty can be happiness

"Security is a false god," or running around the world as an FSO

Afterschool…

Posted by quirksalight on April 3, 2008

I teach an afterschool “English club” every day, where kids can come to improve their speaking abilities in a more casual, non-graded, setting. Three days out of the week, I have the advances speakers from each grade (1-3 years, or 7th – 9th grades in the US) and the remaining two days, I have a mixed class of 2nd and 3rd years with average English speaking ability.
These sessions aren’t free. I saw the schedule, and the parent pay a fee for every afterschool class the kids attend. And yes, I get paid overtime for these classes. But they are fun to teach, as it’s a freeform class, where I can introduce slang, and games to get them moving and talking.

However, an odd thing occurred yesterday, in the 2nd year class. We sit in a circle, using a stuffed animal to indicate who talks. I was observing the kids making sentences with the word “wicked” (yes, to all you Bostonites!) when one of the boys starts sniffing his friend’s sneaker, and another is blatantly scratching himself in the circle.
Amazed, I ask them both what are they doing. Boy 1 looked embarrassed and puts the sneaker down, while Boy 2 turns beet red and turns around so he doesn’t have to look at the rest of the class. And yes, they are in middle school, and everyone was laughing, including the boys, for a good couple of minutes. The boy who was sniffing the sneaker? He told the class that “The sneaker smells wicked bad”. 🙂

4 Responses to “Afterschool…”

  1. Jen said

    Isn’t it rewarding when you can see progress, I mean REAL progress? Have fun corrupting the kiddies! 🙂

  2. Dan said

    wicked cool 🙂

  3. Christine said

    Spreading New England slang? Wicked awesome. Keep up the good work!

  4. Mark said

    Hey, I found your blog while randomly searching the internet. I also teach English in Incheon. In fact, I started only a month or two before you. Anyways, I’m always looking to meet new people. Send me an email if you want to chat.

Leave a Reply

 
