Uncertainty can be happiness

"Security is a false god," or running around the world as an FSO

Happiness is….

Posted by quirksalight on May 5, 2008

I had an interesting conversation with one of the Korean teachers in my middle school the other day. She wanted to know what am I doing teaching in middle school English with an engineering degree from an Ivy League school. She said, “You could be doing so much more!”
My answer was basically, “because I want to.” And the simplest answer is often the case – right now, I want my life to be what I choose to be. So what if it’s not glamorous, or high paying? I’m happy. And that’s not something I had been able to say for quite some time before I left school and moved here.
Yes, I suffered/enjoyed/fought for my education and have pushed myself for degrees that I’m not really using right now. But the education I’ve gotten has gotten me here, and will continue to open doors for me in the future. So no worries, no regrets. It’s been an awesome ride so far, and it looks to continue that way

3 Responses to “Happiness is….”

  1. mark said

    For some Koreans, money is the driving force for happiness. I think they don’t experince as much fun and creativity as many people do else where. So they don’t know the pleasures of living life for the moment and the thrill of an adventure.

    But the same can be said about some of my friends and family from the states. They might think that I might be wasting my life teaching over here. I on the other hand see working a regular job and worring over the future as a waste of life.

  2. Christine said

    🙂 I’m so glad to hear that you are finding the happiness you were missing for so long. You certainly earned it.

  3. Jace said

    Hey Beney,
    I guess you are going through what I have been/am going through. I guess Koreans are raised in such competetive environments due to, well i say, a lack of personal space and natural resources… they often find themselves competing, not cooperating. When it comes to cooperation work such as lab work or team work, I guess many don’t know they can make a win-win situation.

    In the meantime, materials have become an obsession for many Koreans as the society focuses on visible images, such as degrees, money, cars, apartments…. no wonder why we had so many fake degree incidents…

    Anyways I do agree that personal happiness counts. It’s important to hear your inside voice, other than others… As I’ve lived here for more than 3 years, I must say I try hard to be myself and to keep my values (which is not so easy as I am surrounded mostly by Korean Koreans (with not much variety) these days …

Leave a Reply

 
