Uncertainty can be happiness

"Security is a false god," or running around the world as an FSO

Scuba! Scuba! Scuba!

Posted by quirksalight on July 6, 2008

I’ve always wanted to learn to scuba dive. And now, I’m going to learn!
I found out about a bunch of dive clubs in Korea, who offer certification packages in English. And they are inexpensive – about $600 USD for to get certified. That includes everything from the books to the trip out to the sea.
But before signing up, I decided to do a “Discover Scuba” course to make sure that I’ll be ok with the breathing underwater bit. Especially since the course was free. It was a couple hours on Saturday afternoon (7.5.2008), with Allen Rivera from Aquatic Frontiers. It was also a good way to check out the club and the instructor (I mean, you are putting your life in someone’s hands).
And I was completely happy with it. Allen was a great instructor, fun to learn from. The confined water dive session in the pool was a lot of fun, and a lot more tiring then I expected. The only problems I had were remembering NOT to breathe through my nose and getting over the psychological aspect of being underwater and breathing. For the first half hour, my brain’s internal monologue was, “You’re underwater!! Oh wait, you can breathe. But you’re underwater!! But you can breathe,” back and forth, back and forth.
I’m going to take the open water certification course over the first two weekends in August. Just in time for my summer vacation. 🙂 Osan base is a bit of a trek, but better to learn with someone I’m cool with then to try somewhere else that’s closer, but a bit of a black box, you know?

3 Responses to “Scuba! Scuba! Scuba!”

  1. H2OGuy75 said

    Congratulations on your scuba class! Learning to scuba dive is an awesome experience that will open up a world of adventure. have fun!

    If you are ever in the Baltimore/DC area, check us out – Atlantic Edge Dive Center

  2. […] I didn’t end up diving. Two weeks ago, I did a discovery dive in Osan and had a blast. So I signed up for the shark dive in Busan thinking that I wouldn’t have a […]

  3. Congratulations on entering the underwater world, you’re going to LOVE it! Your brain’s monologue is normal and eventually it’ll just go “Cool, we’re totally safe down here!” Good luck with your training, have fun, and just remember, I’m a dive instructor and tell my students this all the time, the surest way to enjoy scuba diving is to make sure you’re ENJOYING it. Never do anything you don’t want to or are uncomfortable with and you’ll have a fine lifetime of underwater adventures. Keep me posted on how you do with your classes.

Leave a Reply

 
