Uncertainty can be happiness

"Security is a false god," or running around the world as an FSO

It’s not just on our minds…

Posted by quirksalight on November 4, 2008

It’s Nov 4th, 2008, and election day in the United States. Three of my 2nd year (8th grade) students came up to me, asking, if I was voting. When I replied that I was, they got very excited, and said, “Obama, yes? Obama!” One student, Hae Mi, who has a better grasp of English than the other two, asked me if I was going to vote for him. I explained that because I wasn’t in the United States, I had voted several weeks ago by mail, so it would get to the US in time.

I asked the three girls why they were excited about Obama and the US elections. One thought he was handsome, another wanted him as the US president because she thought he was “very very smart”. But the most interesting answer came from Hae Mi, who told me (after struggling a little with her words) that she thought Obama would be better for Korea than McCain.

Interesting conversation and more proof how much our election is on the minds of people, young and old, around the world.

If you haven’t, GO VOTE!

Leave a Reply

 
