Uncertainty can be happiness

"Security is a false god," or running around the world as an FSO

Snowboarding

Posted by quirksalight on January 6, 2009

I’ve been wanting to learn to snowboard for a while, but have put it off for a host of reasons, including hitting my head really hard the last and only time I tried learning how to play on the slopes.

Well, I decided that it was time to learn, and hit Bear’s town resort outside of Seoul with Q and two of his friends. And it was so much easier than I expected! I picked up the basics within an hour, and with the encouragement of the boys, tried the other slopes.

It was an awesome day until later in the afternoon when an idiot on a board hit me at full speed from behind, completely taking me out. He was going so fast, his board left the slope and impacted my left leg above the boot. This swung my legs out from under my body so fast, I couldn’t catch myself before hitting my head on the slopes. It was such a bad impact, I could hardly move. It took several minutes for me to sit up and the ski patrol had to ski me down on a stretcher. Completely sucked. I think I had a minor concussion, and felt like someone had taken a hammer all over my body.
According to Q, who was facing me and saw it happen, the guy didn’t really break and was out of control. I have his name and number in case I have medical expenses that develop from the impact.

But you bounce back. After anti-inflammatories, food and rest, I felt better to give the slopes another go. Not too good. The two runs were awkward and painful, so it was time to call it a night. Can’t wait to try it again. 😛

Here are some pictures that Q took of the day.

Leave a Reply

 
