Uncertainty can be happiness

"Security is a false god," or running around the world as an FSO

FSOT scores

Posted by quirksalight on January 21, 2009

When I found out that I passed, I sent a written request for the breakdown of my test scores, to see how I did. Well, I received them this past weekend… and it was all over the place. (doh!) I barely passed the Essay portion, but that’s not too surprising – I didn’t even finish it! I ranked approximately 81% and 72% percentiles on the general knowledge and English grammar sections, respectively. I should have done better on the English grammar….blargh. But the bibliographical section… yikes…47% percentile.

Still, I’m 11.25 points above the cut off… but… now that I see my scores… I really am worried about my chances getting to the Oral Assessment this round. Well, at least I know what I need to work on. Tick tock until February, when I find out!

I heard on the FSOT forums that they had already maxed out the test slots for the February test, which is 5000 applicants, already! I signed up about a week before the November test day in 2008. It’s probably a mix of the economic downturn, plus the wave of people applying b/c of the new Administration, and the fact that you don’t have to write the 6 personal narratives until you pass the exam.

2 Responses to “FSOT scores”

  1. Dan said

    Hey,

    I know it’s late but happy New Year! Did you ever get that clock in the mail?

    Don’t worry too much about the test scores, I’m sure you’ll make it to the next round.

    We’re all looking forward to seeing you in March!

    Dan

  2. shannon said

    hi. i’m working on the epik process you were doing last year, also in DC. I was wondering how long everything took to complete after you sent all your documents to Korea and also how long you waited after going to the DC Consulate before having complete approval to go to Korea. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

 
