Uncertainty can be happiness

"Security is a false god," or running around the world as an FSO

Mounds of Fabric

Posted by quirksalight on July 28, 2009

This pile of fabric represents a good portion of my future wardrobe.

I’m about to turn 30, and have never held a job that required me to wear business clothes, suits, etc, on a daily basis. (That what academia does to you) So, now that I’m facing the very likelihood of working for the government, I am faced with the classic, stereotypical problem of, “What am I going to wear!”

Ah, but I have a secret weapon in the clothing struggle, which is my mother. She’s a professional tailor, and has a store in Falls Church, VA called Tailor Lee.

The benefit of this is that I get custom designed, custom fit clothes, and my mother gets great advertising. The downside is, as my mother, she prefers her progeny to wear rather conservative clothing. I prefer more edgier and unusual designs than what she would like for me to wear. However, as a future government employee, maybe her more conservative ideas of what I should be wearing would be a good thing. (Damn! There goes the red and purple plaid…) 😛

Leave a Reply

 
