Uncertainty can be happiness

"Security is a false god," or running around the world as an FSO

Swearing in and beyond

Posted by quirksalight on May 4, 2010

Today is May 3rd, and the first day of my post-A-100 training.

On April 30th, we, the 152nd A-100 class, stood in the Acheson auditorium in the Truman building, and was sworn into the Foreign Service by Secretary Clinton.

Yes, we were sworn in on the first day of A-100, but this…. it was really freakin’ cool, that the Secretary of State came to administer the oath in front of our friends and family, to usher us into our new careers with State.

Next up, 7 more weeks until my expected departure. I’m still waiting on official paperwork so I can get some more paperwork running. While I wait, I’m in additional training, more specific to what I’ll be doing in Seoul. POL/ECON tradecraft, as they call it.

2 Responses to “Swearing in and beyond”

  1. Dan said

    Wow, that is definitely a memory to cherish for a lifetime! It was very smart to wear red so I could easily find you in the picture, plus it makes a nice combination with Secretary Clinton’s outfit 🙂

  2. It’s Friday, and it’s the Weekly State Department Blog Roundup’s Three Month Blogiversary – and you’re on it!

    Here is the link:

    http://bit.ly/azzT3n

    (If I quoted your text or used your photo(s) and you would rather I had not, please let me know. Please also be sure to check the link(s) that I put up to you, in order to verify that they work properly. If you would rather that I had not referenced you, and/or do not want me to reference you in the future, please also contact me.)

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

 
