Uncertainty can be happiness

"Security is a false god," or running around the world as an FSO

4 days

Posted by quirksalight on June 20, 2010

So I’m at the point where I can count the days I have remaining on one hand, and this is my last weekend in the US, the last weekend before I’m a working FSO at my first post.

It’s been a great weekend. A raucous night with my classmates and the 151st on Friday followed by a fantastic going away party thrown by JL and LL in Georgetown on Saturday night. I’m really going to miss my friends, old and new, much more than when I left before.

It’s strange – I’ve done this before, get ready to move to Korea. It’s mildly deja vu-ish; 2 years and 4 months ago, I was doing the same thing. Yet, it’s oh-so-different. Different bags, a lot more stuff, and definitely more paperwork (seriously!), but heading to the same country on the same airline with the same layover in SanFran. 😛

Some parts of this is weird – I don’t see myself as all that different from the person I was in my previous trip, but to those who knew me then, I’ll be a cat of a different coat. Hopefully this won’t affect how we interact and see each other, as people, but this is something I guess we all have to “see what happens”.

C’est la vie.

4 Responses to “4 days”

  1. Gloria said

    wooooo! 🙂

  2. Alex said

    Good luck!

  3. Hi there!

    I’m writing on behalf of the team that manages INTERNational Connections, a State Department career networking portal for Department employees and interns.

    We’d really love to link to some of your posts (especially the ones about becoming an FSO!)on INTERNational Connections.

    If that sounds like something you might be interested in, please contact us at internconnect@state.gov ASAP!

  4. International Connections said

    Hi there,

    I’m writing from the team that manages INTERNational Connections, a State Department career networking site for Department interns and employees. We’d love to feature some content from your blog on as it provides some valuable insight into the steps towards joining the State Department and life as a Department employee. If you’re interested in letting use some of your posts, please contact us at internconnect@state.gov ASAP for more information. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

 
